The New York Times Company Announces Nominations for Board of Directors

NEW YORK–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The New York Times Company announced today that its Board of Directors
has nominated David Perpich to stand for election as a director at its
2019 annual meeting of stockholders on May 2. All current directors will
stand for re-election with the exception of Jim Kohlberg, a director
since 2008, and Steven Green, a director since 2012, who are both
stepping down.

Arthur Sulzberger, Jr., chairman of the Board of The New York Times
Company, said, “David is one of The Times’s most effective and
entrepreneurial leaders and he’s played a key role in some of the
company’s biggest initiatives over the past decade, including the launch
of the digital pay model. David is well-known at The Times for his
collaborative spirit, sound judgment and strategic vision. He’s also a
fifth-generation family member who is deeply committed to the
furtherance of the company’s mission and values. I am very pleased to
have David nominated to serve on our Board of Directors.”

Mr. Perpich, 41, was named president and general manager of Wirecutter
in 2017 where he leads all aspects of the business and editorial
operations of the product-recommendation site that was acquired by The
Times Company in 2016. He previously led The Times’s digital product
development efforts. He joined the company in 2010 from the management
consulting firm Booz & Company. Early in his career, he co-founded and
helped lead a company in the music industry. He received a B.A. in
economics from Duke University and an M.B.A. from Harvard University.

Mr. Sulzberger continued, “I am very grateful to Jim for his eleven
years of service to our Board and for the wise counsel he’s always
provided to The Times. His tenure has been marked by enormous change and
we’ve been lucky to have his sharp mind and keen intellect actively
engaged in our transitioning business. I’m also deeply grateful to
Steven, both for his enduring appreciation of The Times’s mission and
long-term objectives, and for his seven years of service to our Board.”

Mr. Kohlberg joined the Board in 2008. Over the term of his service, he
has served on several Board committees, including the Nominating &
Governance Committee, which he has chaired, the Compensation Committee
and the Finance Committee, which he currently chairs. Mr. Green joined
the Board in 2012 and has served on the Finance Committee for his full

This press release can be downloaded from


For Media: Eileen Murphy, 212-556-1982;

For Investors: Harlan Toplitzky, 212-556-7775;

error: Content is protected !!